Recognition of prior learning (RPL)

RPL is available to all students for all nationally accredited programs.

What is RPL?

Recognition of Prior Learning (RPL) is the process of assessing the competency of an individual that may have been acquired through formal, non-formal and informal learning to determine the extent to which they meet requirements specified in the relevant training package and/or Vocational Education and Training (VET) accredited course.

  • Formal learning: a structured program of instruction linked to the attainment of an Australian Qualifications Framework (AQF) qualification or statement of attainment (e.g.a certificate, diploma or university degree)
  • Non-formal learning: a structured program of instruction which does not lead to the attainment of an AQF qualification or statement of attainment (e.g. in-house professional development programs conducted by a business)
  • Informal learning: results through experience of work-related, social, family, hobby or leisure activities (e.g. the acquisition of interpersonal skills developed through several years as a sales representative)


Adapted from: ‘Glossary in the Standards for RTOs 2015’

What does RPL involve?

RPL involves the gathering of evidence of existing competency using a portfolio of evidence. This portfolio may be a combination of previous training and/or assessment, on-the-job experience and supporting evidence from your workplace such as documents, videos, photos, your CV or a client/manager testimonial.

There are four (4) key stages in the RPL process:​

  1. Pre-enrolment: interview with an assessor to establish eligibility; reviewing the ‘Student RPL Kit’.
  2. Enrolment: submitting the ‘Online Accredited Program Enrolment Form’ with a completed RPL Evidence Matrix and RPL Application from the RPL Kit; and payment of enrolment deposit.
  3. Assessment: submission of your portfolio for assessment with a completed ‘Student RPL Evidence Matrix’ for each unit; payment of RPL fees; feedback on your result.
  4. Certificate issue


Read more about the EnerTrain RPL process in the ‘Student Handbook’.

Credit transfer

You may already hold AQF Statements of Attainment or qualifications with units that can go toward meeting the requirements of an accredited program. EnerTrain will award credit transfer for any verifiable, current (or equivalent) units of competency you hold so you do not have to repeat learning for competencies you already have.

Recognition of current competency (RCC)

You may hold competencies from a previous Statement of Attainment or qualification that cannot be used for credit transfer such as:

  • previous versions of units that are not equivalent to current versions of units;
  • units that are related but not equivalent to units in your program; or
  • units that are more than five (5) years old and do not demonstrate current skills and knowledge.


RCC provides a pathway for assessing that you are still currently competent in the relevant skills and knowledge and can meet the requirements of the current units. RCC may involve being challenge tested through workplace assessment to support your RPL evidence.

Challenge testing

Challenge testing is a method of RPL assessment generally completed by students who are highly experienced in the competencies being assessed. It is suited to students who may already hold an equivalent unit from a previous version of the training package or another unit that is similar and is generally used to formally recognise the currency of a student’s existing competency.

Challenge testing usually involves a combination of:

  • workplace evidence of competency;
  • recognition of prior learning including statements of attainment in equivalent units; and/or
  • observation of workplace performance and knowledge testing.
Are you eligible for RPL?

Contact EnerTrain to organise a call with an assessor to discuss your eligibility and the next steps in the RPL process.  

How much does RPL cost?

Contact us for RPL pricing details.